I’ve always wanted to go to an orgy

jools and alanI’ve been watching with interest the development of The Womens Room. They say:

“Research shows that, while women are present in the media – for example we represent 79% of victims – three-quarters of the media’s “experts” are men. The media says that this is because there just aren’t that many female experts around, and the media just reflects the reality of the world. This website is about proving them wrong; join the 2000 women already signed up as experts and help us do just that!”

I applaud this action. The absence of women as experts in their fields in the media grates. The night before International Women’s Day this year, BBC Question Time couldn’t even muster an equally balanced panel. Let alone someone who talked about gender issues.

And I watch much popular TV with a wince to see whether women will be fairly represented or will appear as tokens. Which is why so many women who would make me laugh are absent from current comedy shows.

So to last night and the Alan Carr show. An all male show. On came two people I rather like actually: Jools Holland and Russell Brand. But I found myself just wondering what if the host, the guests and the characters in their anecdotes had all been women. What would have been the reaction?

Would a female host share that she had always wanted to go to an orgy?

Picture this anecdote about Jools Holland acknowledging some guy from The Ramones: ‘I walked into the orgy, people carrying on all over the place. I saw someone I knew from another band and started talking to them but they were strangely distant. I realised why when I looked down to see someone administering to their lower regions.’

My paraphrasing takes a fair bit of the humour out of that story, but can you imagine ‘not realising’ that a man was busy giving head to a fellow woman as you said hello to her at the bar?!

A bit later there was an amusing scene where Brand invited all the single ladies in the room to stand up, ostensibly so he could choose which he’d sleep with. He declaimed he’d sleep with them all and hilarity ensued.

Again, can you imagine that situation reversed?

I’m not sure that Brand’s or Holland’s morals would be seriously queried, not by a late Friday night audience. But if those stories had been delivered by women, well I think even Alan Carr’s audience would think on about that one.

Leave a Reply

