Can I be happy for 100 days in a row?

#100happydays

#100happydays

Two folks I rather admire in different ways have recently started the 100 Happy Days challenge.

I reacted to this in many ways, but my first reaction was cynicism. I wouldn’t be me without a good dose of cynicism. In fact having spent my whole career in marketing, I need it to survive. I’m in a world where someone yesterday saw fit to suggest that one ‘leveraged ideation processes daily’. Need I say more?

But the truth is that cynicism is our biggest enemy. Billy Bragg explains it best. (As ever). Our own cynicism undermines our very drive to make the world a better place. Others may be cynical, but if we give in to it, we’re lost.

‘What I learned today’ was supposed to be me learning through writing. A positive effort. But looking back, my last three posts seem to express some conflict between my desire to be happy, and external forces that make me feel sad, or powerless or angry.

I can give in to that, or I can do something about it. I think, for me, 2014 has to be the year for activism. Life may throw challenging stuff at me, but it’s only me that can change how I react to it. I’m not sure that 100 Happy Days is about activism. But I think I could do with re-framing my life more positively. I have much to be thankful for. And much that I could change if I gave myself the power and energy to do it.

I think I’m going to start with the personal. And let’s see where it goes.

So my #100happydays moment today?

Today I took the children to school (nightmare journey, walked half mile to station to find train cancelled, walked another half mile to bus stop, bus ride, walked another half mile to school, with a moaning, dawdling four year old and a more excited seven year old. Arrived late as a result).

 But then I ran home, to do my first full three mile run since my hip injury stopped play last year. Ran through Bushy Park. Slow, not back to form yet. But loving my tunes and ended up at home with muddy trainers. Happy.

Leave a Reply

